Homework – June 7

I admit – my brain is fully and gushy with information and ideas.  I just had a great conversation with some of my colleagues about the empowerment one feels after traveling to a really different place for the first time in their life.  We each discussed the first time we had really pushed our comfort levels with regard to travel and the result, which for each of us, was that we wanted to travel more.  And in that travel, what we agreed we really wanted was to learn and experience more and to pass that love on to our children.  Having read chapter 3 for today, I think this conversation is the perfect reflection of what the first part of that chapter was communicating, which is the power of study away at the emotional level.  This isn’t something I often feel we get to talk about academically because we don’t measure students’ emotions in terms of evaluating how successful or not we are at teaching and learning.  

Our shared experiences up to this point have been unbelieveably powerful.  Although a lot has been discussed about immigration and gentrification, our discussions have led me to wanting to explore further with my students issues of being a refugee.  I think my students are currently in the state of “emergency reaction” to new students coming to the United States from areas of the world that are under stress.  It would be so helpful to both my students, their cooperating teachers, “local” students, and, most importantly, the refugee student themselves to understand what those children are currently experiencing as refugees, what they and their families need, and what they can do to help incorporate them into the American educational system.  For my library science students in particular, I see opportunities for them to work with families in need of information, be it learning how to read and pay bills, to finding educational support for their children. 

Leave a Reply

