Diverse, Vibrant, Creative: Traits of a Sustainable Community

Thank you for adding your list. It was helpful.

Study Away at the New York Loft

My definition of sustainable community in my current discipline of Media Studies in the College of Education at Appalachian is wrapped up in my journey of coming to know the High Country through various very separate contexts of life. Having had the experience of moving away and then returning, my perceptions have been those of an insider and outsider of the community at large. I have also experienced the University from the outside, as well as the community available to a student and an instructor.

My first understanding of the community of Boone came through my time as an Undergraduate student in dance and anthropology at Appalachian. The University offers artistic and cultural opportunities to students at almost any given moment of every day if you take the time to look around and make yourself aware of them.  When I graduated, I never took the time to truly connect to the local…

View original post 933 more words

Leave a Reply

